top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeo Jr.

Awardees Reception - Joseph Needham Merit Scholarship

Updated: Jul 2, 2022

We are happy to announce the 2021 Joseph Needham Merit Scholarship Awardees in our previous post! In celebration, an event is held at the HKUST Business School, Hong Kong Club, Central.

Note: Due to COVID-19-related travel restrictions, some awardees are not physically in Hong Kong, their supervisors were presence to receive the certificate instead.

Here are some of the event snapshots:

Cover page, in honor of the late Dr. Joseph Needham, the scholarship is jointly presented by the Foundation, HKUST, and HKU.

Awardees coming into the reception event.

Awardees, their supervisors, and bored members having conversation.

Dr. Lee delivers opening remark.

Prof. Wei Shyy of HKUST delivers speech to the attending crowd.

Prof. Vivian Wong

Group Photo of JNFSC Board Members.

Group Photo of all attendees of the reception event.

Group Photo of all awardees (supervisors), and Dr. Lee.

At present were also STEM speaker Prof. Vivian T. Wong, and Dr. Chris Chan:

Following are individual photos of recipients (supervisors):

Prof. Xi SHEN, Research Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, HKUST (To receive the cert on behalf of Grace Kim Eunyoung)

Prof. Li HAN, Associate Professor, Division of Social Science, HKUST (To receive the cert on behalf of Ms Tiffany REN Jiaqi)

Prof. Frederick Tsz-Ho FONG, Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics, HKUST (To receive the cert on behalf of Mr NGUYEN, The Hoan)

Dr Loretta KIM, Programme Director and Associate Professor, China Studies Programme - Art Stream, HKU (To receive the cert on behalf of Ms Xu Ruqing Jessica)

Prof. Tim CHENG, Dean of Engineering, HKUST (To receive the cert on behalf of Mr MA Qiurui, Gary)

Prof. Andrew COHEN, Director of HKUST Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study and Acting Dean of Science, HKUST (To receive the cert on behalf of Ms LI Yixuan)

HKUST – Mr Matthew WONG Ting Hei (Awardee)

HKUST – Mr LIU Yuezhang (Awardee)

HKUST – Ms Veronica LI Qin Ting (Awardee)

HKU - Mr CHAN Kwing Yeung Cyrus (Awardee)

We appreciate all awardees for their achievements and excellence, and wish them all the best for their future endeavors!

366 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Needham Conference 2023

The Chairman’s Welcoming Remarks As the principal organizer of the conference, the Joseph Needham Foundation for Science and Civilisation (JNFSC) has the honour to assemble a group of world renowned s


bottom of page