李约瑟科技与文明基金会

​历史

20世纪60年代早期

东亚科学历史信托——英国
(后更名为李约瑟研究所——剑桥大学)
NRI shot.jpg

 李约瑟博士和鲁桂珍博士

李约瑟研究所工地 

东亚科学历史信托(EAHST-后更名为李约瑟研究所)。EAHST在1960年初由一些李约瑟博士的支持者于英国成立。他们意识到持续中国科学技术史这一史诗级研究的重要性,并决定通过在剑桥大学建立李约瑟研究所(1992年竣工)的方式来保留李约瑟博士独一无二的图书馆,并为持续推广李约瑟遗产寻找资金来源。

李约瑟研究所入口

1978年

美国东亚科学历史基金会

在20多年的停滞后,李约瑟博士终于获得了美国签证,在芝加哥大学于1977年6月接受荣誉学位。由Clifford A. Shillinglaw博士和Irvin (Bud) Salk先生(1948年在巴黎联合国教科文组织担任李约瑟博士的助理,是“小儿麻痹症疫苗之父”Jonas Salk的弟弟),菲利普•塔尔博特大使(杰出记者和外交官,届时纽约亚洲协会主席——他于二十世纪四十年代驻扎在印度时和李约瑟博士成为了好友),领导的一群密友和支持者,及其他人发起了一场募捐活动以支持李约瑟博士退休后一座永久性图书馆的建设。为了规避美国捐款人在跨洋汇款时出现的免税问题,他们决定在1977年底成立EAHSF,并日夜辛劳地募集来自各大公司和非盈利基金会的捐助,包括阿尔弗雷德·斯隆基金会,卡内基基金会,可口可乐基金会,福特基金会,亨利·卢斯基金会,克利斯基基金会,及梅隆基金会等等。除了克利斯基基金会为建造永久性李约瑟图书馆的大额捐款外,大部分捐款都用于图书馆的日常运营。

可口可乐公司的高级主管Shillinglaw博士对亚洲事物,特别是中国,印度和日本相关的事物产生了浓厚的兴趣。他在60年代中期阅读了《中国科学技术史》系列的第1、2卷后认识了李约瑟博士,并从此成为了密友。他早期对剑桥大学东亚科学历史信托的财政支持尤其引人注目,他是李约瑟博士1977年中迟到的美国之行背后的主要促成者,并在1977年后期建立纽约东亚科学历史基金会发挥了主导作用。出于对这种友谊的珍视,Shilinglaw博士的照片被显著地挂在了李约瑟博士主任办公桌的上方。也正是通过Shillinglaw博士,公司研发部门的年轻化学研究员李励生(Peter Lee)博士获得了协助李约瑟博士研究《中国科学技术史》项目的机会。从70年代末开始,李励生博士开始与这位剑桥学者交往。在Shilinglaw博士去世后,他的家人将Shilinglaw纪念基金捐赠给李约瑟研究所。

 

1979年初,Shillinglaw博士过早去世之后, 塔尔博特大使继任主席多年,随后是John Diebold先生(一位富有远见的办公流程自动化领域先驱),Nathan Sivin 教授(一位杰出学者,并且是《中国科学技术史》系列合作者),及Robert Oxnam博士(与塔尔博特大使一起积极参与到纽约分支的创建中),分别接任主席职位。

 

21世纪初,东亚科学历史基金会公司更名为美国李约瑟研究所。

 

多年以来,随着基金会建立之初的主要目标一一达成,Robert Oxnam博士,届时美国东亚科学历史基金会主席(及亚洲协会前主席),2006年第五场李约瑟纪念讲座讲师,在与英国李约瑟研究所及香港东亚科学历史基金会磋商后,决定于2008年解散美国东亚科学历史基金会。

Shilinglaw.jpg

Clifford A.Shillinglaw 博士 (1915 – 1979)

1979年至今

李约瑟科技与文明基金会
​香港
IMG_7474 (2).jpg

2014年度大会后,已卸任主席David Li博士、

新任主席Peter Lee博士、董事会成员、

李约瑟—毛文奇教授席获得者梁其姿教授、

李约瑟研究所主任梅建军、及捐赠人Ken Mao合照

 

继美国东亚科学历史信托成立后,在英国东亚科学历史信托主席Peter Burbidge的指导下,由F. Peter Lisowski教授、T. Y. Lee先生和Peter L. Lee博士于1979年在香港成立了一个相似的分支机构。为方便香港本地筹款,该信托于1981年重新注册为东亚科学历史基金会,并于同年10月14日由李约瑟博士在香港主持开幕典礼。重新注册后的基金会随即开启了一系列筹款活动,以建立一个永久性的图书馆并资助李约瑟研究所的运营。在1982年至1988年期间,香港东亚科学历史基金会为剑桥大学李约瑟研究所图书馆主楼和南翼增建工程筹集了大部分资金。

 

虽然筹款活动主要集中于图书馆设施的建设及研究所运营的捐赠,基金会亦积极在香港举办讲座,以推广公众对中国科学史的兴趣。基金会亦为来自中国内地和香港的学者提供前往李约瑟研究所进修的旅费资助。1995年,东亚科学历史基金会(香港)授予中华人民共和国的梅建军先生研究生奖学金到剑桥大学进修,他于1999年成功获得剑桥大学考古学博士学位。梅博士(现教授)自2014年1月起担任李约瑟研究院主任。

 

经过近40年来对李约瑟学术遗产核心价值的不懈追求,东亚科学历史基金会终于有了一个全新的名称:李约瑟科技与文明基金会(香港)。更名后,我们会与本地学术界紧密合作,并与特区教育局合作,使联合理工讲座系列活动成为中学生的“首选”学术交流活动,藉此推动基金会迈向卓越。此外,我们的基金会与李约瑟研究所(NRI)将努力使李约瑟博士的遗产永垂不朽。

东亚科学历史基金会开幕式

Philip Mao博士和李约瑟博士共同主持

1981年,香港大会堂

历任董事

​东亚科学历史基金会

/ 李约瑟科技与文明基金会

历任董事姓名                                  中文名                                          头衔/职位                                            任期

Dr. ANN Tsi Kai                                  安子介                              Company Chairman              (Decd)1979 – 1984

Mr. BURBIDGE, Peter G                                                      Chairman, EAHST Cambridge, UK     (Decd)1979 – 1981

Prof CHAN, Tony F                              陳繁昌                                President, HKUST                         2017 – 2018

Prof CHU Ching Wu, P                        朱經武                                President, HKUST                         2002 – 2009

Mr. FOK, David A.                              霍兆全                                      Solicitor                               1991 – 2017

Mr. GRABOWSKI, John                                                                       Solicitor                               2000 – 2002

Prof HO Peng Yoke                              何丙郁                               University professor              (Decd)1984 – 1987

Sir HOTUNG, Joseph E.                                                                Company Director                        1991 – 2001

Prof KAO Kuen, Charles                         高琨                                CUHK President/VC             (Decd)1994 – 2003

Mr. KING, Douglas J                                                                         Businessman                           1996 – 2003

Mr. LAM Ping Leung                             林炳良                                      Barrister                      (Decd)1979 – 1994

Prof LAU Juen Yee, Lawrence                  劉遵義                              CUHK President/VC                      2005 – 2011

Dr. LEE Jung Kong                                利榮康                                 Company Director              (Decd)1980 – 1911

Prof LEE Ngok                                      李鍔                                   University Professor             (Decd)1994 – 2019

Mr. LEE Tsung Ying                              李宗瀛                               Deputy Editor-in-Chief            (Decd)1979 – 1993

Dr. LEUNG Ding Bong, Ronald              梁定邦                        Physician and Bank Chairman                1985 – 1999

Mr. LEVENTAL, Dennis A                                                                  Business Executive              (Decd)1996 – 1997

Mr. LEVIN, Burton                                                                     Career diplomat/educator         (Decd)1991 – 1995

Prof LI Kwok Cheung, Arthur                  李囯章                            CUHK Professor/President                  1984 – 2002

Prof LISOWSKI, F. Peter                                                                 University Professor                (Decd)1979 – 1987

Prof MA lin                                          馬臨                          CUHK President/Vice-Chancellor    (Decd)1987 – 1999

Dr. MAO Wen Chee, Philip                  毛文奇                              Surgeon & Chairman              (Decd)1980 – 2003

Mr. SALLNOW/SMITH, Nick R.                                                     Company Director                        2014 – 2015

Mr. STEVENSON, George E. S.                                                            Solicitor                       (Decd)1980 – 1991

Prof TSUI Lap Chee                              徐立之                              HKU Vice-Chancellor                      2003 – 2015

Prof WANG Gungwu                           王賡武                              HKU Vice-Chancellor                      1987 – 1996

Mrs. WONG, Mary ( Mrs. PL Lam)                                                   Business Manager              (Decd)1979 – 1994

Prof WONG Siu-lun                             黃紹倫                                University Professor                       1998 – 2020

Prof YOUNG Tse Tse, Rosie                   楊紫芝                         University Professor/Physician                1987 – 1997

P. O. Box 4021, General Post Office, Hong Kong 

电话: (852) 2866 6598, 传真: (852) 2866 7785

© 2020 李约瑟科技与文明基金会

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

History of  The Joseph Needham Foundation

for Science & Civilisation

Early 1960s

The East Asian History of Science Trust, U.K. 
(subsequently renamed The Needham Research Institute) 
NRI shot.jpg

Dr. Joseph Needham and Dr. Lu Gwei-Djen

at the NRI construction site

The East Asian History of Science Trust (subsequently renamed the Needham Research Institute) EAHST was set up in England in the early 1960s by a group of Dr. Needham supporters who realised the importance of continuing the monumental Science and Civilisation in China project, preserving his unique library, and finding financial resources to sustain the Needham legacy via the construction of the Needham Research Institute in Cambridge, completed in 1992.

For more details visit www.nri.org.uk

NRI Entrance

1978

The East Asian History of Science Foundation USA

After a hiatus of over 20 years, Dr. Joseph Needham was granted a visa to the US to accept an honorary degree at the University of Chicago in June 1977.  A group of close friends and supporters led by Dr. Clifford A. Shillinglaw, and Mr. Irvin (Bud) Salk (an assistant to Dr. Needham at UNESCO in Paris in 1948 and younger brother of Jonas Salk, who was "the father of the polio vaccine"). Ambassador Phillips Talbot (distinguished journalist and diplomat, then President of the Asia Society in New York - he became a good friend of Needham while stationed in India during the 1940s), and others launched a fundraising drive to support the construction of a permanent library following Dr. Needham’s immediate retirement.  To overcome the tax-exemption issues for US benefactors in remitting funds across the Atlantic, the group founded the EAHSF Inc in late 1977, and worked tirelessly to secure funds from major corporations and non-profit foundations, including the Alfred Sloan Foundation, the Carnegie Foundation, the Coca-Cola Foundation, the Ford Foundation, Henry Luce Foundation, Kresge Foundation, and Mellon Foundation, among others. Apart from the Kresge Foundation’s matching gift for the construction of the permanent Needham Library, the bulk of the contributions were for the smooth running of the Library.

Shilinglaw.jpg

Dr. Shillinglaw, a senior executive of the Coca-Cola Company acquired an intense interest in things Asian, particularly China, India, and Japan.  He became acquainted with Dr. Needham after reading Vols. 1 and 2 of the SCC series in the mid-60s and became close friends thereafter.  He is especially notable for his early financial support to the EAHST in Cambridge, being a driving force behind Dr. Needham’s long delayed visit to the U.S. in mid-1977, and the leading role in establishing the EAHSF New York in late 1977.  Treasuring such friendship, Dr. Shillinglaw’s photo was prominently mounted above Dr. Needham’s Director’s desk. It was also through Dr. Shillinglaw that Dr. Peter Lee, a young research chemist with the Company’s Corporate R&D department, was offered an opportunity to assist in Dr. Needham’s SCC project.  This was the beginning of Lee’s involvement with the Cambridge scholar from the late 70s. Upon his death, the family donated the Shillinglaw Memorial Fund to the NRI.

Following Dr. Shillinglaw's untimely death in early 1979, Ambassador Talbot then assumed the Chairmanship for several years and was subsequently succeeded by Mr. John Diebold (a visionary office automation czar), Prof Nathan Sivin (scholar and collaborator of the SCC series), and Dr. Robert Oxnam (actively involved with Ambassador Talbot in the formation of the New York entity), respectively.

The EAHSF Inc was renamed the Needham Research Institute, USA in the 2000s.

With the major objectives largely achieved over the years, Dr. Robert Oxam, president of the EAHSF USA (then also or former President of the Asia Society) and speaker of the 5th Joseph Needham Memorial Lecture in Hong Kong in 2006, after consultations with both the NRI and EAHSF HK, decided to disband the East Asian History of Science Foundation USA in 2008. 

Dr. Clifford A.Shillinglaw  (1915 – 1979)

1979 - Present

The Joseph Needham Foundation for Science & Civilisation Hong Kong 
IMG_7474 (2).jpg

Following the 2014 AGM, retiring Chairman Dr. David Li and newly elected Chairman Dr. Peter Lee and directors posed a group photo with JN-Philip Mao Professor Angela Leung, NRI Director MEI Jianjun, Benefactor Ken Mao

Following the establishment of the EAHST in the US, a Hong Kong branch was similarly established in 1979 by Professor F. Peter Lisowski, Mr. T. Y. Lee, and Dr. Peter L. Lee under the guidance of Peter Burbidge, Chairman of the EAHST UK.  To facilitate local fundraising in Hong Kong, it was re-registered as the East Asian History of Science Foundation in 1981 and inaugurated by Dr. Joseph Needham in Hong Kong on 14th October that year. The newly reincorporated foundation subsequently launched a series of fund-raising activities for building a permanent library and the endowment of the Needham Research Institute. Between 1982 and 1988, the East Asian History of Science Foundation in Hong Kong was instrumental in raising most of the funds for the construction of both the main library building and the south wing addition of the NRI in Cambridge. 


Although the fund-raising activities have focused mainly on the building of the library facilities and the endowment of the Institute, the Foundation has also been active in organizing lectures in Hong Kong to promote public interest in the history of Chinese science and technology. Travel grants have also been provided to scholars from China and Hong Kong to the Needham Research Institute. In 1995, EAHSF(HK) awarded a graduate fellowship to Mr. Mei Jianjun from the People's Republic of China to attend Cambridge University, where he successfully completed his Ph.D. in archaeology in 1999. Dr. [now Professor] Mei has been the NRI Director since January 2014. 

 

After almost 40 years of diligently pursuing the core values of the Needham scholarly legacy, EAHSF has finally adopted a new name, The Joseph Needham Foundation for Science & Civilisation Hong Kong. With this name change, we are firmly committed to bringing the Foundation to the next level of excellence by working closely with the local academic community, while partnering with the SAR Education Bureau in making the STEM joint series as a “go-to” event among secondary students. Moreover, our foundation together with the Needham Research Institute (NRI) will endeavor to perpetuate the Needham legacy with vigor. 

Officiating the opening of EAHSF by Drs. Philip Mao and Joseph Needham at the City Hall, Hong Kong, 1981

Past Directors of

EAHSF / JNSFC

Name of Past Directors               Name in Chinese                       Title/Profession                          Period Served

Dr. ANN Tsi Kai                                  安子介                              Company Chairman              (Decd)1979 – 1984

Mr. BURBIDGE, Peter G                                                      Chairman, EAHST Cambridge, UK     (Decd)1979 – 1981

Prof CHAN, Tony F                              陳繁昌                                President, HKUST                         2017 – 2018

Prof CHU Ching Wu, P                        朱經武                                President, HKUST                         2002 – 2009

Mr. FOK, David A.                              霍兆全                                      Solicitor                               1991 – 2017

Mr. GRABOWSKI, John                                                                       Solicitor                               2000 – 2002

Prof HO Peng Yoke                              何丙郁                               University professor              (Decd)1984 – 1987

Sir HOTUNG, Joseph E.                                                                Company Director                        1991 – 2001

Prof KAO Kuen, Charles                         高琨                                CUHK President/VC             (Decd)1994 – 2003

Mr. KING, Douglas J                                                                         Businessman                           1996 – 2003

Mr. LAM Ping Leung                             林炳良                                      Barrister                      (Decd)1979 – 1994

Prof LAU Juen Yee, Lawrence                  劉遵義                              CUHK President/VC                      2005 – 2011

Dr. LEE Jung Kong                                利榮康                                 Company Director              (Decd)1980 – 1911

Prof LEE Ngok                                      李鍔                                   University Professor             (Decd)1994 – 2019

Mr. LEE Tsung Ying                              李宗瀛                               Deputy Editor-in-Chief            (Decd)1979 – 1993

Dr. LEUNG Ding Bong, Ronald              梁定邦                        Physician and Bank Chairman                1985 – 1999

Mr. LEVENTAL, Dennis A                                                                  Business Executive              (Decd)1996 – 1997

Mr. LEVIN, Burton                                                                     Career diplomat/educator         (Decd)1991 – 1995

Prof LI Kwok Cheung, Arthur                  李囯章                            CUHK Professor/President                  1984 – 2002

Prof LISOWSKI, F. Peter                                                                 University Professor                (Decd)1979 – 1987

Prof MA lin                                          馬臨                          CUHK President/Vice-Chancellor    (Decd)1987 – 1999

Dr. MAO Wen Chee, Philip                  毛文奇                              Surgeon & Chairman              (Decd)1980 – 2003

Mr. SALLNOW/SMITH, Nick R.                                                     Company Director                        2014 – 2015

Mr. STEVENSON, George E. S.                                                            Solicitor                       (Decd)1980 – 1991

Prof TSUI Lap Chee                              徐立之                              HKU Vice-Chancellor                      2003 – 2015

Prof WANG Gungwu                           王賡武                              HKU Vice-Chancellor                      1987 – 1996

Mrs. WONG, Mary ( Mrs. PL Lam)                                                   Business Manager              (Decd)1979 – 1994

Prof WONG Siu-lun                             黃紹倫                                University Professor                       1998 – 2020

Prof YOUNG Tse Tse, Rosie                   楊紫芝                         University Professor/Physician                1987 – 1997

P. O. Box 4021, General Post Office, Hong Kong 

Tel: (852) 2866 6598, Fax: (852) 2866 7785

© 2020 by Joseph Needham Foundation for Science and Civilisation

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon