鲁桂珍博士

李约瑟博士《中国科学技术史》背后的主要推动者及合作者

image5.jpg
img195.jpg

“杰出的剑桥科学家,维生素B1分离流程的先驱,

李约瑟博士《中国科学技术史》多卷的主要合作者。1989年,她成为了李约瑟博士的妻子。“

李约瑟博士及鲁桂珍博士的婚礼,图为夫妻二人走过凯斯学院入口

鲁桂珍博士的一生,从她在20世纪初于一个受过良好教育的开明家庭出生;她的作为中国营养生物化学家的历程,并最后进步成为维生素领域的权威;她与多萝西博士在剑桥的博士研究,最终与李约瑟博士在《中国科学技术史》项目上的合作,以及在多萝西博士去世后与李约瑟博士的结缔,现在看来,像是天赐的命运。在她去世后,李约瑟对她非凡的一生进行了精彩的赞颂,并浓缩于此:

鲁桂珍,1904年9月1日出生在南京,是精通现代西药药典的中药师鲁慕婷(Lu Mouting)的独生女。她就读于南京金陵学院,1926年获得学士学位。她在北京协和医学院开始了她的研究生涯,在那里她成为了一名化学病理学家。1928年,她来到上海,先后在女子基督教学院和圣约翰大学担任生物化学教师。1933年,她在上海亨利莱斯特研究所担任研究员,在那里她与著名的维生素权威本杰明普拉特教授合作进行维生素研究,特别是维生素B的分离。

尽管感染了伤寒,1937年,在日本轰炸上海期间,她冒着生命危险离开上海,在英国剑桥纽纳姆学院的威廉邓恩爵士研究所,与多萝西博士(1896-1987)学习生物化学博士。在这里,她遇到了李约瑟博士(1900-1994),并开始了与他持续终生的一段关系。她激励他学习中文,并开始了他对中国科学史、技术史和医学史的研究。

鲁桂珍在1939年凭借对维生素B1缺失症的研究获得了博士学位。二战期间,她在美国加州大学伯克利分校的实验生物化学研究所作为研究员继续进行维生素(B,E)缺失症的相关研究。她因为对金合欢树花朵的过敏了被迫搬走,先是于1941-42年搬到了阿拉巴马州希尔曼医院的营养学门诊;接下来在1942-45年,她去到了纽约哥伦比亚大学医生及外科医生学院的生物化学部,在费城国际癌症研究基金会工作。在这里,她成为了著名物理学家吴健雄的好友。

1945年,她加入了在战时中国首都重庆的中英科技合作办公室的李约瑟夫妇,该办公室是由李约瑟在1943年在英国大使馆的英国文化委员会支持下设立的。1946年,她随办公室迁往南京,1947年被选为南京大学营养科学教授。然而,她很快就被召回巴黎加入新成立的联合国教科文组织的自然科学系。在那里,她担任了9年的科学办公室助理主任,负责按照重庆中英科学合作办公室的模式建立实地科学合作办公室。

最终,在1957年,她搬到了剑桥,在那里她度过了余生。在这里,主要由维康基金会资助,她与李约瑟在许多领域进行合作,主要是医学领域,例如法医学历史、中国的天花和疫苗接种等。特别的,她协助李约瑟博士研究了七卷《中国科学技术史》,与他一起发表了几篇文章和专著《天刀:针灸的历史与原理》(CUP, 1980)。她也协助李约瑟博士完成了数项深入研究,并陪伴他在1964年至1984年之间去到东亚进行募资访问。鲁桂珍还对李约瑟博士的东亚科学历史图书馆(现在剑桥李约瑟研究所)馆藏的许多研究材料及书籍在李约瑟博士收集时做出了巨大贡献。

1987年多萝西博士去世后,鲁博士与李约瑟于1989年结婚。不幸的是,他们的婚姻只维持了两年,她于1991年11月28日死于支气管肺炎。虽然她习惯性地保持在李约瑟的聚光灯之外,她对李约瑟博士超过半个世纪之汉学研究的支持是不可或缺的。正如何丙郁指出的:“假如没有鲁桂珍,就不会有李约瑟,只会在生物化学领域有一个约瑟夫尼达姆(Joseph Needham)”

More on Dr. Gwei-Djen Lu-Needham can be found in: 《Lu Gwei-Djen: A Commemoration

by The Pentland Press Ltd. | Edinburgh · Cambridge · Durham

P. O. Box 4021, General Post Office, Hong Kong 

电话: (852) 2866 6598, 传真: (852) 2866 7785

© 2020 李约瑟科技与文明基金会

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

Dr. Gwei-Djen Lu-Needham

Principal Driving Force and Principal Collaborator of the “Science & Civilization in China” series with Joseph Needham

image5.jpg
img195.jpg

“Distinguished Cambridge scientist, a pioneer in the isolation of Vitamin B1, and principal collaborator with Dr. Joseph Needham in the writing of many volumes of Science and Civilization in China. In 1989, she became Dr. Needham’s wife.”

Dr. Joseph Needham and Dr. Gwei Djen Lu's wedding

The two walking past the Caius College entrance

The entire life of Dr. Lu-Needham, from her birth into a well-educated and outward looking family in Nanjing in the early 1900s, her training as a nutritional biochemist in China and progress to become an authority in vitamins in her own right, her Ph.D. work in Cambridge with Dr. Dorothy Needham, her eventual collaboration with Dr. Joseph Needham on his SCC project, and marriage to him following the death of Dorothy Needham, seems, in retrospect, like heaven-sent destiny.  Upon her death, her remarkable life was eloquently eulogized by Joseph Needham, condensed here.

Lu Gwei-Djen was born in Nanjing on 1 September 1904, the only daughter of Lu Mouting, a traditional Chinese pharmacist also well-versed in the pharmacopoeia of modern Western medicine. She studied at Jinling College in Nanjing, receiving her BA in 1926. She began her research career at the Peking Union Medical College where she was trained as a chemical pathologist. In 1928 she moved to Shanghai, holding teaching posts in biochemisty at the Woman’s Christian College and then St. John's University. Then, in 1933, she took up a research post at the Henry Lester Institute in Shanghai, where she collaborated on vitamin research and particularly the isolation of vitamin B with the well-known authority on vitamins, Professor Benjamin Platt.

 

Despite contracting typhoid fever, in 1937 she made a perilous departure during the Japanese bombing of Shanghai to Cambridge, England, where she studied for a Ph.D in biochemistry with Dr. Dorothy Needham (1896-1987) at the Sir William Dunn Institute as a research student at Newnham College. It was here that she met Dr. Joseph Needham (1900-1994), beginning a relationship with him that was to last the rest of her life, inspiring him to learn Chinese and to begin his research on the history of science, technology and medicine in China.

 

Having received her Phd in 1939 on vitamin B1 deficiency, she spent the years of WWII in the US, she continued her research on vitamin deficiencies (B and E) as Research Fellow at the Institute of Experimental Biochemistry, University of California, Berkeley and at the Harriman Research Lab, San Francisco, from 1939-41. She was forced to move away from there by the allergy which she developed to the flowering acacia trees, moving first to the Nutrition Clinic, Hillman Hospital in Birmingham, Alabama from 1941-42, and then to the Philadelphia International Cancer Research Foundation, based in New York in the Biochemistry Department, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University from 1942-45, where she became a great friend of Wu Chien-Shiung吳健雄 (1912-1997), the famous physicist.


In 1945 she joined the Needham’s at the Sino-British Science Co-operation Office in Chongqing, the wartime capital of China, which set up by Joseph Needham supported by the British Council at the British Embassy there in 1943. She moved with the Office to Nanjing in 1946, where in 1947 she was elected Professor of Nutritional Science at the University of Nanjing. This situation did not last very long, however, and she was soon called to Paris to join the Department of Natural Sciences at the newly established UNESCO. There she stayed as Assistant Chief of the Department for nine years, in charge of the field science co-operation offices which had been set up on the model of the Sino-British Science Co-operation Office in Chongqing.

 

Eventually, in 1957, she moved to Cambridge which was to be her home for the rest of her life. Here, funded largely by the Wellcome Trust, she collaborated with Joseph Needham on many subjects, mostly, medical, such as the history of forensic medicine, variolation and vaccination in China, among others. In particular she assisted Dr. Needham with research for seven volumes of the Science and Civilisation in China series, publishing with him several articles and the monograph Celestial Lancets: A History and Rationale of Acupuncture (CUP, 1980). She also accompanied him on several extensive research and fund-raising visits to East Asia between 1964 and 1984, and made many important contributions to Dr. Needham’s collection of books and other research materials - the East Asian History of Science Library – now housed at the Needham Research Institute in Cambridge.


Following Dorothy Needham’s passing in 1987, Dr. Lu and Joseph Needham got married in 1989. Sadly, they were granted barely two years of married life and she died on 28 November 1991 of broncho-pneumonia. Though she habitually kept out of Joseph Needham’s limelight, her support for and contributions to his sinological endeavours over half a century were vital, and as Professor Ho Peng Yoke何丙郁once remarked “假如没有鲁桂珍,就不会有李约瑟,只在生物化学的领域有一个 Joseph Needham”(Suppose there had been no Lu Gwei-Djen, there would be no Li Yuese (Joseph’s Chinese name), just the biochemist Joseph Needham).

More on Dr. Gwei-Djen Lu-Needham can be found in: 《Lu Gwei-Djen: A Commemoration

by The Pentland Press Ltd. | Edinburgh · Cambridge · Durham

P. O. Box 4021, General Post Office, Hong Kong 

Tel: (852) 2866 6598, Fax: (852) 2866 7785

© 2020 by Joseph Needham Foundation for Science and Civilisation

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon